Mac+ Tackplus ↓ Download for macOS
Alternatives · Live wallpapers

Wallper alternatives for Mac, by the reason you’re leaving

Match the replacement to your reason for leaving: Wallspace or Mac+ for a free tier with no time limit, Phosphene for free and open source (macOS 26+), Mac+ below macOS 14.6. Apple’s aerials, in System Settings then Wallpaper, animate as you lock or unlock.

Match the replacement to why you are leaving Wallper: a free tier points to Wallspace, free and open source to Phosphene, a Mac below macOS 14.6 to Mac+, and a Lock Screen that broke on macOS 27 to an update first. Every figure below comes from a vendor page read on 7 October 2026. I make Mac+, so it comes last, with its limits.

By macOS developer, creator of Mac+

Updated 2026-10-07 · 9 min read

A Mac desktop with soft grey-blue swirling flows behind a calendar widget and a weekend countdown card
One of Mac+’s 15 generated scenes: a wallpaper drawn live on the GPU rather than played back from a video file.

Which alternative fits which reason for leaving Wallper?

Your reason for leaving decides the app, and every pick has a catch. Where a vendor’s own pages contradict each other, the cell says so.

Reason for leaving Wallper, matched to apps, with vendor statements checked 7 October 2026
Your reasonLook atWhat the vendor statesThe catch
Trial over, you want a free tierWallspace, Mac+Wallspace: Free plan, “$0 · Forever”. Mac+: six animated scenesWallspace keeps own video and Lock Screen in Pro; Mac+ has no catalogue
$14.99 is too muchWallux, Wallspace, MacWall, Mac+One-time $9.99, $12.99, $12.99 and €9.99Currencies and Mac counts differ (price table below)
Mac on macOS 13 or 14.0–14.5Mac+Requires macOS 13 or laterGenerated scenes only; no Lock Screen
Intel MacMacWall, Phosphene, Aerial, Mac+Intel stated (Phosphene: universal binary)Phosphene and Aerial need macOS 26; Backdrop, Wallspace, Wallux pages are silent
Lock Screen video stopped on macOS 27Update Wallper first; then Backdrop, Wallux, PhospheneWallper: 1.9 or later restores it. The other three name macOS 27Vendor statements, none tested here
Lock Screen video below macOS 26BackdropIts maker’s blog says macOS 15 and laterNot on its product or store pages; €29.99 lifetime
Open source, auditablePhosphene, AerialBoth MIT; Aerial adds “no telemetry”Your own videos, no catalogue; macOS 26
A little motion, nothing to installApple’s aerialsApple says they animate at lock and unlockNo own video; nothing documented at other moments
No video library; widgets and folder icons tooMac+15 generated scenes, 12 widgets, 52 folder-icon patternsNo Lock Screen; own video needs Pro

What do Apple’s own Wallpaper settings give you for free?

They give you Apple’s aerial wallpapers. Apple says they “animate as you lock or unlock your Mac”; nothing more is documented. The path is System Settings, then Wallpaper in the sidebar, where the aerials sit in the Landscape, Cityscape, Underwater and Earth categories.

Apple’s wallpaper guide adds that, by default, the aerial you select doubles as your screen saver. Dynamic Wallpapers only shift between lighter and darker with the time of day. For your own pictures the guide covers a single photo, an image file or a photo set; it documents no way to use your own video. That is the free baseline every app below is measured against: if motion at lock and unlock is all you wanted, nothing needs replacing.

Is Wallper broken, or is it your macOS version? Check before switching

On macOS 27, Wallper states that animated Lock Screen wallpapers need Wallper 1.9 or later, so an out-of-date copy is the first suspect. Its 1.9.0 release post (27 July 2026) says macOS 27 “changed how moving lock screen wallpapers are installed, which stopped them working”.

Wallper’s FAQ adds the other conditions: Lock Screen video needs macOS 26 or later, desktop wallpapers keep playing on earlier systems, and Wallper’s own setting “Use Lock Screen & Screensaver” must be on before you set the wallpaper again (that is Wallper’s wording, not a macOS label). One page lags: its supported-versions FAQ, updated 2 April 2026, still says “up to macOS 26”. The vendor’s pages disagree, so read the version number inside the app.

The 7-day trial ended: which apps keep a free tier?

Wallspace and Mac+ keep a free tier with no time limit stated. Wallper itself says “Try every Pro feature for 7 days”, then “the app locks until you purchase a lifetime license”: beyond that trial, no free tier. The others offer trials, not tiers.

If $14.99 is the problem, what do the other one-time prices look like?

Wallux Lifetime is $9.99, Wallspace Pro $12.99 for one Mac, MacWall $12.99 for three, Mac+ €9.99 and Backdrop €29.99 lifetime. Currencies and licence scopes differ, so this is not a ranking.

One-time prices on vendor pages, checked 7 October 2026 (currencies not converted)
AppOne-time priceMacs coveredAlso sold as
Wallper$14.993 MacsPro+ $24.99, up to 5 Macs
Wallux$9.99 LifetimeUp to 3 MacsPro $2.99 a month
Wallspace Pro$12.991 Mac2 Macs $19.49, 3 Macs $27.28, 5 Macs $38.97
MacWall$12.99 after 24 free hoursUp to 3 MacsPro+ $19.99
Backdrop€29.99 lifetimeNot checked€1.99 a month or €14.99 a year
Mac+€9.99Not stated on the site€1.99 a month, 7-day trial

Two cautions. Wallper’s euro figure is a conversion: its pricing page calls euro amounts “approximate” and says payment is “processed in USD by Stripe at the live exchange rate”. Refund windows differ too: 14 days at Wallper, MacWall and (before licence activation) Backdrop, five at Wallspace. Our price guide covers subscriptions and multi-year cost.

Which apps still run below macOS 14.6, or on an Intel Mac?

Among the apps compared here, only Mac+ states macOS 13; the rest state 14.6, 15 or 26. Intel is stated for Wallper, MacWall, Aerial and Mac+, Phosphene ships as a universal binary, and the Backdrop, Wallspace and Wallux pages I read are silent.

Minimum macOS, Intel and macOS 27 statements on vendor pages, checked 7 October 2026
AppMinimum macOS statedIntel statedmacOS 27 stated
Mac+13YesNo version-specific statement
Wallper14.6YesLock Screen needs 1.9 or later
Backdrop15Not stated“Fully supports macOS 27 Golden Gate”
Wallspace15.0Not statedNot stated
MacWall15YesNot stated
Wallux15.0Not stated“Including the latest macOS 27”
Aerial“Built for macOS 15+”; latest release “macOS 26+”YesNot checked
Phosphene26.0Universal binary“Validated on macOS 26 and 27”

The Intel column matters because of Apple’s own roadmap. MacRumors wrote on 20 August 2026, during the beta, that macOS 27 will only run on Macs with an M1 chip or newer. In practice an Intel Mac stays on macOS 26 Tahoe. Our guide to Intel Macs on Tahoe covers what you can still customize there.

Which apps state Lock Screen video, and from which macOS?

Wallper, Wallspace (Pro), MacWall, Wallux and Phosphene state macOS 26 for Lock Screen video; Backdrop’s maker says macOS 15, in a blog post rather than on its product or store pages. Apple documents only the aerial behaviour quoted above, so every requirement here is a vendor statement.

On macOS 27, Backdrop, Wallux and Phosphene name the release (see the table above), and Wallper does through version 1.9. The Wallspace and MacWall pages I read carry no macOS 27 statement, which is not the same as failing there. Our Lock Screen guide explains what macOS itself allows.

Free and open source: what do Phosphene and Aerial actually give you?

They give you a way to play your own videos, with no catalogue and no price; the current releases of both state macOS 26.

Phosphene, by kageroumado, is “free and open source (MIT)” per its README. It needs macOS 26.0 or later, ships as a universal binary, installs with brew install --cask phosphene and, says the README, adds your videos (MP4, MOV, anything AVFoundation reads) to the Wallpaper settings of macOS itself, for the desktop and the Lock Screen. GitHub showed release v1.8 (30 September) and 871 stars on 7 October 2026. Mind the README’s caveat: the app leans on a private Apple framework, so a major macOS release might break it.

Aerial is MIT-licensed and calls itself “Free, open source, no telemetry”, the vendor’s own statement. Version 4.1.7 (5 October 2026) plays Apple’s aerial videos and, per its site, any .mov or .mp4 dropped into one folder. Since 4.1 it can register as a native wallpaper, a section tagged Beta. Its page says both “Built for macOS 15+” and, for the latest release, “macOS 26+”: check which applies to your download.

When is Wallper still the right call?

Wallper fits when your Mac runs macOS 14.6 or later, you want one licence for three Macs plus a ready-made library, and paying is fine. Its pages state Apple Silicon and Intel support, $14.99 once for 3 Macs, your own MP4 files from the start of the trial and a 14-day money-back guarantee.

Library size is the soft number: 2,640 wallpapers (post of 30 July), 3,000+ (roundup of 2 August), “2900+” (pricing page, 7 October). Read it as about three thousand, by the vendor’s own count. On privacy, Wallper’s policy lists “limited telemetry” (feature usage, errors, performance) and a hardware identifier to bind licence keys, and Wallspace’s describes anonymous analytics through TelemetryDeck; I did not read the Backdrop, MacWall or Wallux policies. Wallper says it stays outside the Mac App Store because it uses system-level features the store does not support.

Where does Mac+ fit, and where does it not?

Mac+ is not a like-for-like Wallper replacement. It has no Lock Screen support, no screen-saver mode and no wallpaper catalogue: 15 generated, abstract scenes drawn live with Metal, against about three thousand videos on Wallper’s pages. Importing your own video is a Pro feature, and it is not on Homebrew.

It fits a narrower case: macOS 13 or later on Apple Silicon and Intel, so Macs below Wallper’s 14.6 floor; generated scenes rather than footage; 12 widgets and 52 folder-icon patterns in the same app (the widgets sit on the desktop layer, behind windows, as Apple’s do). Everything renders locally; there are no ads and no telemetry. Playback pauses while the screen sleeps and while any app, full-screen ones included, sits over the desktop.

Without paying you get two widgets, six folder icons, an image background, eight palettes and exactly six animated scenes, on one display or several. Pro is a €9.99 one-time purchase, or €1.99 a month starting with a 7-day trial; I checked these prices on 7 October 2026, and the site does not say how many Macs a licence covers. More apps are in our comparison of live wallpaper apps for Mac. If none of the reasons in the first table is yours, Wallper may well still be the right app.

↓ Download Mac+ free Mac+ home

macOS 13 or later. Apple Silicon and Intel. Free download; Mac+ Pro €9.99 once or €1.99/month.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a free alternative to Wallper for Mac?

Yes, in three forms. Wallspace has a Free plan marked “Forever”, though your own video and the Lock Screen need Pro. Phosphene and Aerial are free, MIT-licensed players for your own videos and state macOS 26 for current releases. Apple’s aerials come with macOS and, per Apple, animate as you lock or unlock. Mac+ also has a free tier of six scenes.

Does Wallper have a free version, or does it lock after the trial?

Beyond the trial, no free tier. Wallper’s pricing page gives every Pro feature for 7 days, then says the app locks until you buy a lifetime licence ($14.99 for 3 Macs, checked 7 October 2026). Separately, its FAQ says gallery wallpapers are free to download for personal use; the paid part is the app.

Does Wallper work on macOS Ventura or Sonoma?

Not on Ventura (macOS 13), and not on Sonoma before 14.6: Wallper states 14.6 as its minimum. Mac+ states macOS 13; the other apps compared here state macOS 15 or 26 (vendor pages, checked 7 October 2026).

Why did my Wallper Lock Screen wallpaper stop working on macOS 27?

Wallper’s release post of 27 July 2026 says macOS 27 changed how moving Lock Screen wallpapers are installed and that Wallper 1.9 or later restores them. Its FAQ says to turn on its Lock Screen setting and set a wallpaper again. Backdrop, Wallux and Phosphene state macOS 27 support on their own pages.

Is there an open-source alternative to Wallper for Mac?

Two turned up: Phosphene (MIT, macOS 26.0 or later) and Aerial (MIT, macOS 26 or later for the current download). Neither is a catalogue; both play videos you supply. Phosphene’s README warns that its private Apple framework could change at any major macOS release.

Can Mac+ replace Wallper?

Only if you want generated scenes rather than a video library. Mac+ lacks Lock Screen support and a catalogue, and importing your own video needs Pro. It does run on macOS 13 or later, Intel included, which Wallper (14.6 minimum) does not.

Keep reading

Sources

← All guides

Keep reading