Mac+ Tackplus ↓ Download for macOS
Compatibility · macOS 13 to 26

Which live wallpaper apps still run on macOS Ventura, Sonoma and Sequoia?

On Ventura (macOS 13) Apple lists no aerial wallpapers; on Sonoma and Sequoia it lists them as stills in Wallpaper settings. Wallper needs macOS 14.6; Backdrop, Wallspace, MacWall and Wallux need 15; Mac+ starts at 13, MotionDesk at 13.5. Most vendors put Lock Screen video at macOS 26.

Only a few live wallpaper apps install below macOS 15. Bumpy Paper and Mac+ start at macOS 13, MotionDesk at 13.5, Muro and Reactive Wallpaper at 14, Wallper at 14.6; Backdrop, Wallspace, MacWall and Wallux list 15.0. This guide starts from the macOS you run, not from the app, and every figure was read on the vendor’s own page on 7 October 2026.

By macOS developer, creator of Mac+

Updated 2026-10-07 · 8 min read

A Mac desktop running the Mist scene from Mac+: slow grey-blue veils of fog behind a month calendar widget, two icons and a weekend countdown card
Mist, one of the 15 generated scenes in Mac+: abstract motion drawn live on the GPU, not a video file. The app installs from macOS 13 Ventura.

Does macOS itself play a live wallpaper on Ventura, Sonoma or Sequoia?

No, and no macOS version keeps Apple’s own wallpapers moving behind your icons: none of the guides below describes that. What Apple documents is closer to still images, with a brief burst of motion added in macOS 26.

What Apple’s guide lists on each macOS, read on 7 October 2026
macOSIn Wallpaper / Screen Saver settingsMoves behind your icons?
13 VenturaDynamic Wallpapers that “change gradually throughout the course of the day”, plus Pictures and Colors; screen savers such as Floating, Message and Word of the Day. No aerials.No
14 SonomaLandscape, Cityscape, Underwater and Earth aerials, called “still images”. The slow-motion aerial is a Screen Saver; Show as wallpaper gives a still aerial image.No, a still image
15 SequoiaSame wording. Show as wallpaper now gives “a still macOS image”.No, a still image
26 Tahoe and 27 Golden GateAerials “animate as you lock or unlock your Mac” and double as the screen saver by default. The English screen-saver guides no longer mention Show as wallpaper.Only as you lock or unlock

Dynamic Wallpapers just shift in tone as the day goes by; the slow-motion aerial is a screen saver, not something that plays while you work; and from macOS 26 the motion arrives only at the lock and unlock moments. Apple’s guides describe no desktop that keeps moving while you work, so continuous motion means a third-party app. The Sonoma switch is walked through in free animated wallpapers for Mac.

Which live wallpaper apps install on macOS 13, 14 and 15? The minimums, checked 7 October 2026

Only a handful go below macOS 15: Wallper (14.6), Muro and Reactive Wallpaper (14) and, at 13, Bumpy Paper, Mac+ and MotionDesk (13.5). Backdrop, Wallspace, MacWall and Wallux each list 15.0. Each cell comes from the vendor’s own page, linked in the first column.

Live wallpaper apps by minimum macOS, Intel support and Lock Screen video, each read on the vendor’s own page, checked 7 October 2026
AppMinimum macOSIntel MacsLock Screen video
Plash (older builds)2.14.1: 13; 2.15.0: 14; 2.16.0: 15; current 2.17.3: 26.4Not statedNo: “This is not possible.”
Bumpy Paper13.0Not statedNot stated
Mac+13YesNo (Mac+ site)
MotionDesk13.5YesNot stated
Muro14Yes, universal buildmacOS 26 or newer
Reactive Wallpaper14No, Apple silicon onlyNo: shows only while unlocked (FAQ)
Wallper14.6YesmacOS 26 or later
Backdrop15.0YesMaker says from 15; unconfirmed
Wallspace15.0Not statedPro, macOS 26 or later
MacWall15.0YesPro, macOS 26 or later
Wallux15.0YesStill image on 15, video on 26
Aerial4.0.16: 15; 4.1.7: 26Yes4.1 only: keeps playing on the login screen after wake, per its site
Phosphene26.0Yes, universal buildYes, from its macOS 26 floor

“Not stated” means the vendor’s page is silent, not that the app fails. Prices follow, in each vendor’s currency and unconverted.

Price models, checked 7 October 2026, in each vendor’s own currency
AppPrice modelFree option
Mac+Free tier; Pro €9.99 once or €1.99/month, 7-day trialYes
MotionDeskFree tier; $9.99 lifetime for all 17 scenesYes, 2 scenes
Bumpy Paper, Plash, Muro, Phosphene, AerialFree (Phosphene and Aerial: MIT licence)Yes
Reactive Wallpaper$8.99 once after a 3-day trialTrial only
Wallper7-day trial, then $14.99 once for 3 MacsTrial only
Backdrop€1.99/month, €14.99/year or €29.99 lifetime3 watermarked backdrops, no time limit
WallspaceFree forever; Pro $12.99 onceYes
MacWall24-hour trial, then $12.99 once for 3 MacsBrowsing only
Wallux7-day desktop trial, then $2.99/month or $9.99 once for 3 MacsTrial only
Why older pages disagree

Wallspace’s own January 2026 blog still says macOS 13; its home page and FAQ say 15.0. Wallper’s August 2026 comparison lists Backdrop at 14; Backdrop says 15.0, and its 3 September 2025 announcement still names Sonoma. Aerial’s README calls 4.1 a beta, but GitHub shows it stable since 14 September 2026, and the 4.1.7 notes say that build does not work on Sequoia. This guide uses each vendor’s current requirements page.

Ventura, Sonoma, Sequoia or Tahoe: which app fits each version?

Below macOS 15 the choice is short: four apps at 13, three more at 14, then five more from 15 and Lock Screen video from 26.

Which Intel Macs stop at which macOS, and which apps stay open to them?

The 2017 MacBook, MacBook Pro and iMac models stop at Ventura, the 2018 and 2019 MacBook Air at Sonoma, most 2018 to 2020 Intel Macs at Sequoia, four Intel models at Tahoe; macOS 27 is Apple silicon only. We set Apple’s five compatibility lists against each other on 7 October 2026 (Ventura, Sonoma, Sequoia, Tahoe, macOS 27): a model on one list but not the next stops there.

Intel Macs by the last macOS Apple’s lists give them, read on 7 October 2026
Last macOSIntel models that stop thereApps open to it
13 VenturaMacBook (Retina, 12-inch, 2017); MacBook Pro 13-inch and 15-inch (2017); iMac 21.5-inch, Retina 4K 21.5-inch and Retina 5K 27-inch (2017)Mac+, MotionDesk (13.5+), Bumpy Paper, Plash 2.14.1, iWallpaper, Aerial 3.6.3
14 SonomaMacBook Air (Retina, 13-inch, 2018 and 2019)Above, plus Wallper (14.6+) and Muro
15 SequoiaMacBook Pro 13-inch 2018 to 2020 (all but the 2020 four-port model) and 15-inch 2018 and 2019; MacBook Air 2020; iMac Retina 4K 21.5-inch and Retina 5K 27-inch (2019); iMac Pro 2017; Mac mini 2018Above, plus Backdrop, Wallspace (Intel not stated), MacWall, Wallux, Aerial 4.0.16
26 TahoeMacBook Pro 16-inch (2019); MacBook Pro 13-inch (2020, four Thunderbolt 3 ports); iMac Retina 5K 27-inch (2020); Mac Pro (2019)All of the above, with Lock Screen video (Wallper, Wallspace Pro, MacWall Pro, Wallux, Muro, Phosphene, Aerial 4.1.x)

Nothing introduced before 2017 is on Apple’s Ventura list, so an older Mac falls under “12 and older”. Every Apple silicon Mac can install macOS 27; Apple-silicon-only apps (Reactive Wallpaper, Orbl, a widget dashboard) never install on an Intel Mac. To tell which you have, open About This Mac: an Apple silicon Mac shows an item labeled Chip, an Intel Mac one labeled Processor.

No measured figures exist for any app here on an old Intel MacBook. Aerial’s FAQ suggests a 60 fps variant in Format settings if you meet stutter or heat; Mac+ lists 30, 60 or 120 frames per second depending on hardware. The Tahoe-on-Intel story is in what an Intel Mac can still customize on Tahoe.

What do you give up by staying on an older macOS?

Four things, each documented by Apple or the vendors: Lock Screen video, animated aerials, Apple’s desktop widgets, and the security entries Apple lists for newer releases.

Update macOS or change app? Four checks before you decide

Update if your Mac is on Apple’s list for macOS 15 or 26 and you want Lock Screen video or more apps; stay put, with a low-floor app, if it is not on the list or an app you rely on has not caught up. Four checks:

  1. Open About This Mac from the Apple menu: it shows the macOS version and a Chip or Processor line (Apple on your macOS version, Apple on Apple silicon).
  2. Check your model against Apple’s list for the macOS you want, linked above.
  3. Weigh the gain: macOS 15 opens five more apps, 26 opens Lock Screen video, 27 needs Apple silicon. On the four Intel models that stop at Tahoe, owners report a heavier interface: user reports, no figures, covered in the Intel Mac on Tahoe guide.
  4. Back up first, as Apple advises before installing new software, then open System Settings, click General, then Software Update (Apple’s update guide).

Where Mac+ fits on macOS 13 and 14, and where it does not

Mac+ installs from macOS 13 Ventura on Apple silicon and Intel, so it answers Ventura and Sonoma alike. MotionDesk (13.5 or later, two free scenes, $9.99 lifetime) is the closest like-for-like option. Mac+ draws 15 generated, abstract scenes on the GPU, not a video library, and adds widgets and folder icons. The free tier covers multi-display, an image background, eight palettes, two widgets, six folder icons and six animated scenes. Your own video is Pro, which costs €9.99 once or €1.99 per month with a 7-day trial. Animation stops when the display sleeps and when any app, full screen included, covers the desktop.

↓ Download Mac+ free Mac+ home

macOS 13 or later. Apple Silicon and Intel. Free download; Mac+ Pro €9.99 once or €1.99/month.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a live wallpaper app for macOS Ventura (13)?

Yes, a few. Bumpy Paper (13.0, free), Mac+ (13), MotionDesk (13.5) and Plash 2.14.1 list macOS 13 or later on their own pages, checked 7 October 2026. Wallper (14.6), Backdrop, Wallspace, MacWall and Wallux (15.0) need a newer macOS.

Does Backdrop or Wallspace work on macOS Sonoma (14)?

No. Both state macOS 15.0 or later on their current pages. Wallper, which has a video catalogue, goes down to 14.6. Older pages saying otherwise are stale: Wallspace’s own January 2026 blog still says macOS 13.

Can I have a live wallpaper on the Lock Screen on macOS 14 or 15?

Per Wallper, Wallspace, MacWall, Muro and Phosphene, Lock Screen video needs macOS 26; Wallux gives a still lock screen from 15. Backdrop’s maker says video works from 15, while Backdrop’s support page says compatibility “may vary”. We could not test that claim.

Do live wallpaper apps work on Intel Macs?

Most do: Mac+, MotionDesk, Wallper, Backdrop, MacWall, Wallux, Aerial, Phosphene and Muro state Intel support. Reactive Wallpaper and Orbl are Apple silicon only. Wallspace, Bumpy Paper, Plash and iWallpaper do not say either way.

Do Apple’s aerial wallpapers move on Sonoma or Sequoia?

No. Apple’s guide calls them still images in Wallpaper settings; the slow-motion version is the screen saver, and Show as wallpaper gives a still image. They animate as you lock or unlock the Mac only from macOS 26.

Is macOS Ventura or Sonoma still supported?

Apple publishes no end-of-support date. On its security-releases page, read on 7 October 2026, the last Ventura entry is 13.7.8 (20 August 2025) and the last Sonoma entry 14.8.9 (6 August 2026).

Does Mac+ run on macOS 13 and on an Intel MacBook?

Yes on both, per the Mac+ site: macOS 13 or later, Apple silicon and Intel. No performance figure has been published for Intel Macs or for macOS 13 and 14, so try the free tier first.

Keep reading

Sources

← All guides